Creative Lunch assignment: describe a person who falls asleep

Let’s not make things complicated. If you want to become a better writer, you start with the easy things, continue with the next level stuff and repeat until you master your craft.

Last time we described our bathroom cabinet and the world from the perspective of a pair of shoes. This Creative Lunch we continued with describing more complex things: humans.

The assignment was to describe a person who falls asleep in 20 minutes. Time caps are always challenging, so this time I decided to plan the story on paper, before I started writing. After thinking back and forth, I decided to write a short story about a baby falling to sleep. Mainly because it’s one of the most beautiful scenes I know, and also because I wanted to experiment with creating a very sensitive and soft feeling.

I liked the outcome. Now it’s your turn. What’s your next creative step?

Next level_stairs at Gran Delicato

Cool stairs at Gran Delicato

 

Leave a comment